California Issues ‘Travel Ban’ on Some Red States

Single-party dominance has made California a little crazy.
After a “Calexit” secession effort failed when its leader decided to move back to Russia, the deep-blue state has now turned to other methods to resist the change in political fortunes.

On Friday, the California Assembly narrowly failed to pass a plan to bring single-payer health care to the state, which would have cost more than double the entire current California budget.

But in the age of Trump, the Golden State hasn’t been content to focus on its own issues. It has now turned its agenda outward by crafting its own “travel ban,” aimed at punishing sister states for not going along with its views.

California’s Attorney General Xavier Becerra announced on Friday that the state would no longer fund travel to states deemed “discriminatory” toward LGBT people.
“While the California [Department of Justice] works to protect the rights of all our people, discriminatory laws in any part of our country send all of us several steps back,” Becerra said in a statement.

“That’s why when California said we would not tolerate discrimination against LGBTQ members of our community, we meant it.”

There are now eight states on California’s travel ban list: Alabama, Kentucky, South Dakota, Texas, Mississippi, Tennessee, Kansas, and North Carolina.

Read More HERE